About Cooperatives

Touchstone Energy Values

Touchstone Energy
All "A" Classic





Kentucky's Touchstone Energy Cooperatives announce All "A" winners

Kentucky’s Touchstone Energy Cooperatives are pleased to announce the winners of the boys’ and girls’ basketball tournaments for the 2012 Touchstone Energy All “A” Classic. Covington Holy Cross won the boys’ division and Walton-Verona claimed the girls’ championship during the finals Jan. 29 at the Frankfort Convention Center.

Holy Cross hit a game-winning three pointer against the Bardstown boys’ team, giving the Indians a 52-51 victory. Walton-Verona won 38-36 in overtime against the Newport Central Catholic girls in a game dominated by defense.

Students at the state’s 125 smallest schools qualify for various Touchstone Energy All “A” Classic programs in academics, cheerleading, basketball and other sports.

On Jan. 28, the day before the basketball finals, officials from the Touchstone Energy All “A” Classic honored 60 high school seniors who each won $1,000 scholarships to attend college or vocational schools in Kentucky.

Dave Cowden, the All “A” scholarship director, said that by the end of 2012 the Touchstone Energy All “A” Classic will award a total of $90,000 in academic scholarships.

“Kentucky’s electric cooperatives have shown their strong commitment to these outstanding young people,” said Stan Steidel, executive director of the tournament. “The sponsorship by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives is what makes it all possible. Some of these students would not attend college without these scholarships.”

Here are winners announced in other Touchstone Energy All “A” Classic events:

In-game cheerleading competition:
Girls’ team cheerleaders
1st place: Harlan High School
2nd place: Somerset High School
3rd place: Murray High School

Boys’ team cheerleaders
1st place: Barbourville High School
2nd place: West Carter High School
3rd place: Owen County High School

Art competition:
Hannah Jo Cooper of Cumberland County High School won first place in the 2012 art competition. Her work was featured on the cover of the program for the basketball tournament. Second place went to Leatha Reynolds of West Carter High School. Honorable mentions were given to Momoko Matsuoka and Christine Seaman, both from Bardstown High School.

Visit www.allaclassic.org for tournament information and history.